FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS MENU

If you have a question about the Nassau County Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller's office or a service we provide you can select an area below to view related frequently asked questions. If you still have questions or cannot find what you are looking for, please contact our office by e-mail or call us at (904) 548-4600.

The Nassau County Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller's office cannot provide legal advice. Please contact a qualified attorney for guidance about a particular legal issue.

MARRIAGE LICENSE

Q: Where Do I get a marriage license?
Q: What are the requirements for a marriage license?
A: For single adults to obtain a marriage license they must both be 18 years or older and come into the Clerk's office together. Bring your driver's license and Social Security Number (Card not needed, just the number). Non-U.S. Citizens may submit a naturalization number, immigration number or passport number.
Q: If one or both parties were previously married, are there additional requirements?
A: If either party has been widowed or divorced, they must know the month/day/year that the marriage ended.
* If either party has divorced within the last 30 days they need to bring a certified copy of the final divorce decree with them when they apply for a marriage license.
Q: Do I have to be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage license?
A: No.
Q: Do I have to have a blood test?
A: No. A blood test is not needed.
Q: Is there a waiting period for the marriage license to become valid?
A: For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. Provider must be registered in Nassau County. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a full three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may take the course separately, they are not required to take it together, but both must take it in order to qualify for the discount and both must read a 16 page Family Law Handbook (copy provided by the Clerk's Office).

The waiting period does not apply to nonresidents of Florida. If one party is a resident of Florida and the other party is a nonresident the three-day waiting period is waived only if the Florida resident takes the state-sanctioned marriage preparation course, but no discount is given.
Q: How long is my marriage license application valid?
A: A Florida marriage license is valid for 60 days from date of validity. The marriage license must be returned to the clerk's office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.

Click Here for Further Information

TAX DEED SALES

Q: What is a tax deed sale?
A: Tax Deed Sales deal with the selling of property that is delinquent in taxes. A tax deed sale occurs after an owner of a Tax Certificate applies to the Tax Collector for a Tax Deed after the Tax Certificate has been held for the statutory period.
Q: Where can I find out about properties scheduled for tax deed sale?
A: Tax Deed Sale information is published in local newspaper four weeks prior to the sale date. It is also made available via the internet.
Q: When and where are tax deed sales conducted?
A: Tax Deed Sales will be held at 11:30 a.m. on the day of the sale at the Robert M. Foster Judicial Center, 76347 Veterans Way, Yulee, FL, 32097.

To participate in a Tax Deed Sale auction, arrive at the courthouse 15 minutes before the auction is scheduled to begin. You will need to check in with the Clerk's Deputies in the Recording Department. At the time of check-in, you will be required to provide your name and the clerk will verify your money for deposit. At the end of the sale successful bidder must provide name and address as you want it to appear on the Tax Deed.
Q: Where Can I find further information about tax deeds?

FORECLOSURE SALES

Q: What is a foreclosure?
A: A forced sale of property to satisfy an unpaid debt.
Q: When and where are foreclosure sales conducted?
A: Effective April 1, 2016 Foreclosure Sales will be held online via the Internet at www.nassauclerk.realforeclose.com pursuant to Judgment or Order of the Court and Chapter 45, Florida Statutes. Sale Times are
Monday thru Friday beginning at 11:30 AM ET, (except legal holidays).
Q: Where can I get a list of upcoming foreclosure sales?
A: Foreclosure sales information is published in the local newspaper for 2 consecutive weeks at least 5 days prior to the sale date. It is also made available via the Internet on the RealAuction Website.
Q: If I am the successful bidder, when do I have to bring in the full amount of my bid?
A: If a bidder is successful, the funds initially deposited will be deducted and credited toward the total amount due. The successful bidder must pay the balance of the final bid plus the registry of the court service charge to the clerk’s office no later than 3:30 PM EST the day of the sale on this site via wire transfer or in person by cash or cashier's check to Circuit Civil Department at 76347 Veterans Way, Yulee, FL 32097. The Certificate of Sale will not be issued until good funds are received by the clerk’s office.

CHILD SUPPORT

Q: What is child support?
A: Child support is money paid from one parent to the other for the benefit of their children. For more information consult the relevant Florida Statutes.
Q: How do I get child support for my children?
Q: What can I do if I have not received my child support payments?
A: Contact your Clerk of Court's office. The Clerk of Court's office can file a judgment against the delinquent parent resulting in a lien against any real property owned by that individual. In private cases, the Clerk of Court's office can initiate action to suspend the delinquent parent's driver license and registration. You can find your Clerk of Court's telephone number here. For additional assistance, you may also contact a private attorney or the Department of Revenue.
Q: How can I pay?
Q: What if my address has changed?
A: You are responsible for notifying your Clerk of Court's office of any changes. This information should be put in writing and mailed to the clerk of the circuit court (i.e. the county's address in which your support case is filed). Remember to include your case number with these documents. You can find your Clerk of Court's telephone number here.
Q: Do you offer direct deposit?
A: Yes. You can have your money directly deposited to your bank account or, in some cases, to a Florida Debit MasterCard.
Q: How soon after signing up will I begin receiving my direct deposit payments?
A: Your direct deposit authorization form should be processed within 2 months. During this time you will continue to receive payments via mail.

JURY DUTY

Q: I am permanently disabled. What can I do to be excused?
A: People with disabilities are entitled to the provision of reasonable accommodation and assistance by the court in order to participate in the proceedings, at no cost.
Please contact the ADA Coordinator at (904) 548-4909 at least 7 days prior to your court appearance.
Q: I have no one to take care of my children. What can I do?
A: Any expectant mother and any parent who is not employed full-time and who has custody of a child younger than 6 years of age will be excused from jury service upon request.
Q: Are students excused from serving on jury duty?
A: Jurors must be 18 years old, U.S. citizens, legal residents of Florida and their respective counties and possess a driver's license or identification issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
(Names are randomly selected from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles list of driver's license or identification card holders residing in Nassau County)
Q: Can I get excused for not understanding or speaking English?
A: If you are unable to serve, you must follow the directions in the "Juror Excusal Statement" portion of your summons in order to be excused for any of the reasons stated above.
Q: How can I be excused for an extreme hardship?
A: A person may be excused from jury service upon a showing of hardship, extreme inconvenience or public necessity.
Q: What type of documentation is required as proof that I no longer live in Nassau County?
A: Jurors must be 18 years old, U.S. citizens, legal residents of Florida and their respective counties and possess a driver’s license or identification issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
(Names are randomly selected from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles list of driver's license or identification card holders residing in Nassau County).If you are unable to serve, you must follow the directions in the "Juror Excusal Statement" portion of your summons in order to be excused for any of the reasons stated above.
Q: What type of documentation is required as proof that I am not a citizen?
A: Jurors must be 18 years old, U.S. citizens, legal residents of Florida and their respective counties and possess a driver's license or identification issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
(Names are randomly selected from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles list of driver's license or identification card holders residing in Nassau County). If you are unable to serve, you must follow the directions in the "Juror Excusal Statement" portion of your summons in order to be excused for any of the reasons stated above.

TRAFFIC TICKETS

Q: How can I pay my ticket?

A: You can pay online, in person or by mail.

Online: Please visit our website www. nassauclerk.com (Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover or debit card)

In Person: Visit our office located at 76347 Veterans Way Yulee, FL 32097 or The Historic Courthouse, located at 416 Centre St, Fernandina Beach, FL 32034. Hours of operations are Monday through Friday 8:30a.m. to 5:00p.m.

*Cash, credit or debit card, money order or personal checks accepted in person. By Mail: Clerk of the Circuit Court 76347 Veterans Way Yulee, FL 32097.

*Do not send cash by mail. Cashier's check or money order accepted by mail.

Q: Does Nassau County Give Extensions on Traffic Citations?
A: No. We do however, offer a payment plan that is set up on a contractual basis with a fee of $25.00 payable at the time the contract is set up. This must be done within your 30 day time to pay. Read the Payment Agreement or view the Payment Schedule.
Q: Does going to defensive driving school keep the citation off my driving record?
A: No. The citation will show on your record, but will show a Clerk's withhold. This means no points will be assessed.
Q: How can I find out how many points I have on my driving record?
A: By contacting the driver license Bureau (http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/) or calling 904-491-7400. You can also purchase a driving record here at the clerk's office. Call us at 904-548-4608 for more information.
Q: Can I elect to attend defensive driving school after having paid my citation?
A: No. Once you pay for your citation, you have made your one election for that violation. If you wish to attend school, you should inform the cashier before the time you pay.
Q: Does Nassau County accept payment for citations issued in other counties?
A: No. Nassau County can only accept payments on citations issued within Nassau County.

PROBATE

Q: When is probate needed?s
A: Probate is necessary when a court order is required to transfer or distribute the assets of the estate. Probate is not needed if all assets were jointly held and one of the joint holders is the survivor.
Q: What must accompany the form for filing a disposition of personal property without administration?
A:
  • The will, if the decedent had one.
  • A certified copy of the death certificate.
  • A copy of the paid funeral bill.
  • A statement regarding the type of assets to be released and the company or institution currently in possession of the assets.
  • A photo ID of the person filing the paperwork.
  • Filing fee.