DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE


If you are choosing to represent yourself you may seek the assistance of the Family Law Court Coordinator before filing your Dissolution. You may contact the office by dialing (904)548-4908.
The filing fee for a dissolution of marriage is $408.00, plus $10.00 to issue summons(per defendant) and any applicable mediation fees. Payment may be paid by cash, personal check in person only with proper ID, or credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover cards, and American Express only). For a complete list of packet fees click here.
The fee for service by sheriff within the state of Florida is $40.00 payable in cashier’s check or money order to the sheriff’s department. If service is out of the state of Florida, you will need to contact the sheriff in the county where the other person lives, to find out what their fee is, and what method of payment they accept.
Florida Family Law and the Florida Supreme Court have created general information packets regarding divorces:
  • Simplified Dissolution of Marriage
    • Requirements:
      • Both you and your spouse have agreed to get divorced.
      • Either you or your spouse have been a Florida resident for at least the prior six months
      • You have no children younger than 18 years of age who were born during this marriage
      • The wife is not pregnant now.
      • There is no request for alimony.
      • Both of you agree on how to divide all the property and bills.
      • Both of you must sign the petition at the clerk’s office or have it notorized and attend the hearing with the judge.
  • Dissolution of Marriage with No Dependent or Minor Children or Property
    • Requirements:
      • You are unable to meet all requirements for the Simplified Dissolution of Marriage.
      • You have no marital assets or marital debts.
      • Neither you nor your spouse is seeking support (alimony).
      • The party filing for divorce must reside 6 months in the state of Florida before the filing of the petition.
  • Dissolution of Marriage with Dependent or Minor Children
    • Requirements:
      • There is a dependent child born during the marriage.
      • The party filing for divorce must reside 6 months in the state of Florida before the filing of the petition.
  • Dissolution of Marriage with Property but No Dependent or Minor Children
    • Requirements:
      • You are unable to meet all requirements for the Simplified Dissolution of Marriage.
      • You disagree about property, debts, or other matters and wish to have a judge settle them for you.
      • Either you or your spouse are seeking support (alimony).
      • You would like to ask questions and get documents concerning your spouse’s income, expenses, assets, debts, or other matters before having a trial or settlement.
      • You would like to reserve your rights to have any matters reconsidered or appeal the judge’s decision.
      • The party filing for divorce must reside 6 months in the state of Florida before the filing of the petition.

CONTACT INFORMATION

(904)548-4606

 

ROBERT M. FOSTER JUSTICE CENTER


76347 Veterans Way
Yulee, Florida 32097

HISTORIC COURTHOUSE


416 Centre Street
Fernandina Beach, Florida 32034

HOURS OF OPERATION


8:30-5:00, Monday - Friday
( Excluding Holidays )

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.